Child pages
  • Contributions

OPEN NETWORKING

FOUNDATION

1000 El Camino Real, Suite 100

Menlo Park, CA 94025

info@opennetworking.org

 

ONF Liaison Statement

Date

26 July 2018

Subject

ONF OIMT & OTCC work on the modelling of photonic media

To

ITU-T Study Group 15

Hing-Kam Lam: Rapporteur Q14/15 ( kamlam@fiberhome.com )

Scott Mansfield: Associate Rapporteur Q14/15 ( scott.mansfield@ericsson.com )

Stephen Shew: Rapporteur Q12/15 ( sshew@ciena.com )

 

 

CC

Timon Sloane (ONF Vice President of Marketing and Ecosystem) timon@timonsloane.com

 

 

Reply to

Liaisons@opennetworking.org

 

From

Nigel Davis (OIMT Co-Chair) ndavis@ciena.com

Kam Lam (OIMT Co-Chair) kam.lam@fiberhome.com

Lyndon Ong (OTCC Chair) lyong@Ciena.com

 

Dear colleagues,

Thank you for your liaison SG15-LS121: “LS on OCL, Information modelling of MCC and media”. The ONF OIMT & OTCC Projects have progressed on many aspects of the Core Information Model.

With regard to media, the use case of an express channel in a ROADM has led us to consider an additional type of media channel, other than a network media channel. In general, this is a media channel whose frequency slot overlaps with the frequency slots of one or more network media channels, but does not necessarily share their ports. A typical use for this would encompass the spectrum of an integral number of network media channels. G.872 describes media channel concatenation, but does not describe media channels that start and end on two ports of any serial concatenation of media channels . The ROADM “express channel” is an example of this type of media channel which when switched, can effectively switch reroutes all network media channels that share its frequency slot. A construct has been discussed in the model for this, and we request that it be considered in G.media and G.media-mgmt.

In G.798 and G.872, the adaptation “OTSiG/<digital OTN client>” is found in various figures. This is understood to mean <this layer CI>/<Client CI> as specified in G.800 and the adaptation source “accepts client layer network characteristic information at its input and processes it to allow transfer over a trail (in the server layer network)” (G.805). Hence the adaptation label “OTSi/<digital OTN client>” implies that an OTSi is the output of a trail termination function. Considering that the optical signal modulator/demodulator only modulates the information onto the signal, it does not add additional information and therefore does is not perform ing trail termination, the nomenclature for the adaptation label does not fit this case. This is caused by a domain change in the media.  Identifying the electrical CI AI into the optical signal modulator/demodulator may be helpful since the modulator/demodulator function is not adding/removing (G.800) Layer Information.

It would be useful to have a generic label/name for the electrical CI AI entering the optical modulator/demodulator.

In considering the SOTU and MOTU interface classifications as shown in G.872 and other Recommendations, we have concluded that they do not have to be modeled with other media artifacts. Please advise us if this is not the case.

__________________